Visual Research

I actually really enjoy the visual research part of the design process. Some people like to be more isolated from visuals when designing, but I like to be surrounded by them (I always have inspiration boards up in my room).  When collecting my imagery, I usually open an illustrator document, and then drag in tons of images from the web.  Then I will often print them out and collage them all together.  Often this can provide a great overall style and color story for my design. 

 Collective Inspiration

This is an example of a collage that I made for The Collective  I ended up changing my design, but it still provided a great jumping off point.

 Other than the basic google & Flickr searches, here are some other sites that are really helpful & fun to look through.

Right now I am in the process of doing visual research for two new projects.  I will update the blog with my research when I am done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

